ITU Elections results

September 30, 2022

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is the United Nations arm dealing with telecommunications and having its highest governing body the Plenipotentiary Conference that is held once every four years.

This conference elects its top leaders and unlike other United Nations agencies, which have just one elected head, ITU has five top posts filled by elected officials

They are the Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General, and Bureau Directors for Radiocommunication, Telecommunication Standardization, and Telecommunication Development. It also elects the 12-member Radio Regulations Board (RRB) and the 48-state membership of the next ITU Council.

ITU Plenipotentiary Conference 2022 (P22) that started on 25 September 2022 has now elected its top officials to be headed by a new Secretary General with a new set of teams as follows: They will take office on 1st January 2023.

Secretary General: Ms Doreen Bogdan-Martin of the United States (incoming)

Deputy Secretary General: Mr Tomas LAMANAUSKAS, from Lithuania (incoming)

Director Radiocommunication Bureau: Mr Mario MANIIEWICZ from Uruguay (re-elected)

Director Telecommunication Standardisation Bureau: Mr Seizo ONOE from Japan (incoming)

Director Telecommunication Development Bureau: Dr Cosmas ZAVAZAVA from Zimbabwe (incoming)

PITA warmly congratulates all the successful candidates for the new tenure (4 years) and look forward to continuing the close work it has with the ITU for the common goals of development in the Pacific

For more details of ITU and its elections, visit the ITU website or click here for more information on the election results. Click here for its elections explained